Design for Poverty Shortlist & Prizes Announced

Please give yourselves a pat on the back. I know the deadline was tight but you guys managed to pull thru and put together some amazing ideas full of imagination, ingenuity, and hope. Poverty is a cyclical system that cannot be solved by one idea and you all did an amazing job addressing every aspect.  I also want to thank our sponsors, Herman Miller, Steelcase, Haworth, and Pure Digital. Hit the jump for the shortlist!

Sponsors: Herman Miller, Steelcase, Haworth, Pure Digital

Shortlist (in no particular order)

  • Chris Nobles (Trash Sleeping Bag)
  • Evan Gant (Rain Drops System)
  • Jessica Rick (Table Tent)
  • Ethan Przekaza (H2OME)
  • Adam Trebel (Red Cross)
  • Brian Cuellar (Education for All)
  • Llyod Pennington (The Disaster Stove)
  • Rita Rahar (Roughsleeper)
  • Sara Melvinson (Hidden City)
  • Mary Fialko and Vincent Calabro (SolarSkin)

Check back October 24th for the Gold, Silver, and Bronze winners. Our sponsors have some amazing prizes. The Gold winner will receive the Herman Miller Embody chair. The Silver Winner will receive the Steelcase Think chair. The Bronze winner will receive the Haworth BRAZO Lamp. There will also be one Pure Digital Flip Mino Camcorder special recognition prize.

Again thank you to our sponsors for providing such awesome prizes!

Herman Miller Embody

Steelcase Think

Haworth BRAZO

Pure Digital Flip Mino